Banana Cupcakes with a Peanut Butter Frosting.

Have you ever bit into a delicious peanut butter and banana sandwich? Well, I haven’t. I don’t know what my deal is but I’ve heard that bananas and I used to be quite the pair when I was little but for as long as I can remember, I have never liked them. Maybe it’s a texture thing but I just have no interest in eating them. Don’t get me wrong, they are great in smoothies, just as long as the smoothie is blended completely and there are no fruit chunks. I about gag when I’m sipping on a smoothie and a fruit chunk makes its way up my straw and into my mouth! Ugh! (*gagging sounds*) Anyways, so I was perusing bonappetit.com and I stumbled across this recipe for Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting. Maybe it was some inner jealousy I had for people who have had the experience of enjoying peanut butter and banana sandwiches but I decided that I NEEDED to bake these. The recipe is very simple and straight-forward which I loved since I really don’t have the time to be messing around with complicated recipes while I am in the the middle of the most stressful college semester I have ever experienced. I didn’t add the chopped, toasted peanuts that the recipe calls for as a topping (again, weird texture issues… I know, I’m a freak), but the cupcake batter is actually pretty similar to that of the dough you would make for a banana bread recipe. The frosting calls for cream cheese and I wasn’t sure how I felt about peanut butter and cream cheese together but I tasted it before adding it to the cupcakes and WOW! The peanut butter flavor just sort of smacks you in the face! I’m kind of obsessed with Peanut Butter and Nutella together so I decided to add some Nutella to the frosting before spreading it on the cupcake and it kind of adds more of a nutty flavor to it as well as a hint of chocolate and come on… let’s face it, chocolate goes great with almost anything. I mean people combine chocolate and bacon together… which I still have yet to try but, don’t worry it’s on my foodie to-do list. Anyways so here’s the recipe for these delicious cupcakes. They are kind of a fun change of pace in comparison to making the usual chocolate or vanilla cupcakes and they definitely deserve a chance to be tried. Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting.

This entry was posted in food.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

