butternut squash lasagna.

I love butternut squash. It’s good by itself; roasted with some olive oil and salt and pepper and it’s also good with pasta (see my first food post: penne with butternut squash and goat cheese). I’m pretty sure I first discovered this recipe through pinterest and I’m sooooooo (so) glad that I did. Butternut squash lasagna is sweet but still savory. It’s also kind of healthy. As Kramer would say, “Giddyup”.

Thanks to Lindsay at Pinch of Yum for sharing this recipe. I took some liberties of my own with the recipe. For one, I made my own butternut squash puree. I used an entire squash. I peeled, seeded and cut the squash into 1 in. cubes. Put them on a baking sheet covered in olive oil and salt and pepper and roasted them in a oven at 400 degrees F for 22-24 mins. While I was doing that I sliced 1/2 a yellow onion and cooked it in a non-stick skillet on medium low heat with some olive oil, a little butter, salt and pepper. The onions probably took a little longer than the squash did because I wanted to slowly cook them so that they would caramelize and not burn. Once the squash was done, I melted 1 1/2 tbsp of butter and added 1 1/2 tbsp of flour to a medium sized pot. I heated up 1 cup of milk in the microwave for 45 seconds to 1 minute to help get it nice and warm so that I could add it to the roux (the butter and flour combo) and make a nice bechamel sauce. Make sure to constantly whisk or stir the milk so that the sauce thickens up asap. Season with salt and pepper.

I added 3/4 of the squash, 1/2 of the caramelized onions, and 1/4 of the bechamel sauce to a blender, at first, and pureed until everything was a nice consistency. I added the remaining squash/onions and bechamel sauce as needed in order to make sure that the puree would remain smooth. You might not need to use all of the bechamel sauce, or you may need to make more; it all just depends on how big your squash was.

Another liberty I took was with the ricotta and Parmesan cheese mixture. I added 1/2 cup of Parmesan to the 15 oz of ricotta and I also added about 2 tsp of Sriracha to it. I love the taste of Sriracha and the 2 tsp is barely noticeable so if you’re not a fan of spicy, you can totally get away with adding the Sriracha. Want your lasagna to be sweet, savory and spicy? Add more than 2 tsp. Also, I didn’t have any “sel de cuisine” so I just sprinkled a little cinnamon and crushed rosemary into the squash puree when I was seasoning it and before I started assembling the lasagna.

I had some leftover bechamel sauce so I added a little bit of it to the top of the lasagna after I had finished assembling it in the baking dish. I covered the top with a little Parmesan and covered with foil. I had it in the oven for 45 minutes at 400 degrees F. You don’t need to pre-cook the noodles although if you did, I’d probably bake the lasagna for less time. I’m so glad that I decided to mix things up and make a different kind of lasagna. This lasagna is delicious!

This entry was posted in food. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

