Bacon, Caramelized Onion, Roasted Asparagus and Egg Pizza with Mozzarella Cheese: I’m back.

I’m back, and I’m all graduated from college and stuff. My online absence had something to do with this past semester being my last semester of my undergraduate career but it also had something to do with the fact that the camera function on my phone was broke and I refused to go get it fixed until this past Saturday. Obviously, the very next day my thoughts became consumed by one main theme: “What should I make and share with folks next?” The answer was pizza. Not just any pizza, Bacon, Caramelized Onion, Roasted Asparagus and Egg Pizza with Mozzarella Cheese.

The inspiration for this recipe came from Breanna over at Breanna’s Recipe Box. A couple of weeks ago, I attempted to make both of the pizza’s featured on that page. While both were good, the Roasted Asparagus, Egg and Prosciutto Pizza was definitely my favorite. The other pizza had bacon and caramelized onions on it and yesterday a light bulb sort of came on in my brain and I was like, let’s combine these pizzas. I left the prosciutto and ricotta off of this new hybrid pizza but all in all I would say that this is definitely one of my favorite pizzas ever.

Toppings for Pizza:

7-8 asparagus spears.

1 yellow onion

10 slices of bacon

8 oz of fresh mozzarella

6 large eggs

The asparagus were seasoned with olive oil, salt, pepper and a squeeze of lemon juice and then roasted at 425 degrees Fahrenheit for about 10-13 minutes depending on the size of the spear. Most of the asparagus spears were used to line the edges of the pizza but the remaining spears were roughly chopped up and sprinkled over the pizza.

The onion was sliced and sauteed in olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper on medium low heat until the onions became translucent and slightly golden.

The bacon was cooked in a saute pan with a little olive oil on the bottom to help prevent sticking. Don’t cook the bacon all the way to crispy like you might for Sunday morning breakfast. They are going to continue to cook and get crispy in the oven when you bake the pizza and you don’t want them to be over-cooked.

I bought the fresh mozzarella balls that come in the plastic container filled with water to help keep them moist. Just spread the mozzarella balls evenly all over the pizza. I used all 8 oz but you might want to use less.

Definitely don’t need to use 6 eggs but we were trying to get an egg on each slice of the pizza and there is definitely a certain level of skill or creativity needed in order to achieve this. The eggs like to move around on the pizza and they never end up where they start.

A word to the wise… I would use 5-6 of the asparagus spears to make a sort of dam around the edges of the pizza to help prevent the eggs from migrating off the edge of the pizza and on to the floor of the oven.

We made the pizza dough from scratch but there’s no harm in buying one of those pre-made crust’s at the store. If anything I would applaud that because then you get to enjoy the pizza a little bit faster. If you do decided to make the dough from scratch, make sure to brush the dough with olive oil and season with salt and pepper before you add the toppings.

Also, add all of the toppings minus the eggs for the first 3-5 minutes of baking at 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Then add the eggs and bake for another 10-15 minutes. You want to make sure the egg whites are completely cooked so check the pizza every so often until they are.

This entry was posted in food.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

